The Minority Of Me

 

To stand as you are ...you must at times arch your back and lift your chin ...even when you feel the weight of the world on your back - Kenda

To stand as you are …you must at times arch your back and lift your chin …even when you feel the weight of the world on your back – Kenda

I was asked recently what did I find most difficult about being minority , which did I see as a bigger challenge – being African American Or being a woman … I would usually give a long social commentary on how it is hard for me to separate the two because it was a unique exist that I can not fathom separating… but on that day I said my bigger challenge is being the 1% of the population who stutters AND of that 1 % being an even more rarity of a woman that stutters AND yet an even smaller percentage of the previous stated small percentage who are African American & female who stutter… YEAH …

I am a shy extrovert .. not necessarily by nature but by circumstance. It has become a part of my life to weigh every word I say , perceive the interpretation and response of the listener …always concerned if I was understood.  Some people confuse I need to be understood as a need for acceptance , nothing of the sort at all. I have come to value communication and expression in much higher regards than most. The bible states that “Life and death are in the tough.” and it is true. You can seal your own fate by what comes out of your mouth , delay or redirect a blessing all because of what you say and how you say it.  The wrong words can rip a person deeper and quicker that hollow tipped bullets from an M16.

wordsasweapons

I leave you with one of my favorite quotes that I try to keep in mind when ever I talk to ANYONE. Sometimes I shoot off at the mouth ..I am human BUT if you use this as guide..you have more agreements than disagreements –

“Before you speak ask yourself: Is it kind, is it necessary, it is true, does it improve upon the silence?”


― Shirdi Sai Baba

 

Leave a Reply

